Tags

This video is dated, but gives the public an understanding of what an animal technician/ technologist does. I want to note however, in any facility I have worked in we do not handle the animals, their bedding or the cages with out latex gloves.  It is required for people to gown before entering animal rooms and usually wear a mask as well, but this is for the protection of the animals, not necessarily for us.  We need to ensure we are not bringing in any bacteria or microbes into the facility that can harm the animals.  It is obvious to me that rules and regulations have changed since this video was taken, please take that into consideration.

I like how they asked this particular technician about how she got into the field, I think this is the case for many people they simply fall in love with the animals and see the value they provide science.  I hate hearing that there was someone working there that did not have the caring compassion for the animals, it is people like that, that give us a bad name.  It upsets me to think they felt that way and continued to work in the facility.

I hope everyone can enjoy the video and take away something from it.

I would love to hear questions and or comments from others as well.